Poets logo

See Me

Black Is Beautiful

By Holly UnderwoodPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

When you look in the mirror?

What do you see

Well I see me

A beautiful black queen

From the melanin of my skin

To my beautiful small chin

I am me

Unapologetic for the way I look

As I walk the streets many may stare

But I think to myself

Who really cares

Black is beautiful

No matter how light or dark

Black is beautiful

Regardless of what many say

I was made this way for a reason

Look at my sexy thighs

Many say my oh my

I am unique because of me

Never will you meet someone like I

As I get nervous at times

Afraid to be outside some days

As I fear racism for the way I look

I stand tall and try not to get shook

Why am I a target

For my skin

I just don’t understand

Black doesn’t mean danger

Nor does it mean wrong

We are all human

And should be treated as such

Why is it that at times my color seem like too much

Never for me

But for the outsiders looking in

I am black and beautiful

Never will I think I am not

I am black and beautiful

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HUWritten by Holly Underwood

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.