Poets logo

Seconds to Fly

For those left behind

By Kristen SladePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Seconds to Fly
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

It was a cold December night

And the phone started ringing.

Chill in my bones

As I watch you through the glass.

I’m watchin’ you fade away,

But I’m beggin’ you stay-

And what gives you the right

To trade your tears for mine?

What gives you the right

To trade your life for just

A few seconds to fly?

What gives you the right

To tear yourself out of my arms?

What gives you the right

To take away your light,

And leave the world a little less bright.

You must’ve been in so much pain,

It must have been so much to take.

I wish you would have let me in,

Let me join in your burden.

I would have gladly shared your pain

With you

If you had only said a word,

Because the silent cries

Inside your mind

Couldn’t be heard.

But what gives you the right

To trade your tears for mine?

What gives you the right

To trade your life for just

A few seconds to fly?

What gives you the right

To tear yourself out of my arms?

What gives you the right

To take away your light,

And leave the world a little less bright.

I just have to ask,

How come?

And who exactly did you think

You were stealing from?

Because a long time ago,

I gave my heart to you.

So when you took yourself away,

You killed me too.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kristen Slade

Hey all! I am a graduate from BYU in Provo with a masters in PE. I have a passion for the outdoors, physical activity, sports, and health, but I also love writing! I love my parents and all eleven of my siblings!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.