Poets logo

Second Chance

Poetry

By Marilyn GloverPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Man lifting woman- photo by Pavel Danilyuk- Pexels

Am I not so heavy

So heavy

Heavy

I seem to weigh you down

Down

Down upon me, you look

Looking

Looking down your nose

Know, who knows

But this girl knows

Your scoffs

Eye-rolls

Rolling eyes

Ayes, your eyes

Speak the truth

Of unuttered lips

Lipstick stains on your collar

Collared

It is you, not me

Who spoils this equation

Equating justification

Declaring wrong for right

Right

Right here, I've been

All along

By your side

Sideways days; your troubled time

Time when you needed lifting

Lift me

Me

But did you lift me

In my time of need

No

Needles in the spine

Instead

Yet, at this very moment

Momentous emotional moment

You dare muscle me with guilt

Guilty

I am not guilty

My spirit is broken

Broken

Shattered

Torn

Torn between walking

Away

And staying

Staying to fight

For

You, me; us

Us

The us we used to be

Before the weight of the world

Loaded us down

Down

Here we are

At the bottom

Bottomed out; broken spirits

Yet, I ask you

Am I not so heavy

Heavy

With a heavy heart

And outstretched arms

I reach out to you

Asking you to upraise me

Upraise me

To days long-gone of longing

Longing

In this delicate instant

I am asking for your strength

Strength in spirit

Our second chance

Chance

Chancing new air

Air

Inhaled at new elevations

Help me

Help me lift you

Please

Lift me

* For a second chance is a rare opportunity; don't waste it- M. Glover

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.