Poets logo

Seasons of Comfort

A Haiku

By Riley ForestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Seasons of Comfort
Photo by Chad Madden on Unsplash

Home is not a place

Music is more than just notes

My therapist says to

Become aware of

My senses to the best of

My ability

To find a safe place

Within myself. Inhale. Exhale.

Unconditional

Love is when I feel

The most comfort in the world

My friends embrace me

With laughter while we

Eat burnt marshmallows around

A backyard fire

Those moments we felt

Invincible. Connected

Together we have

Music to find our

Great Perhaps. Having power

To choose what vibes I

Surround myself with

I will always be able to find comfort

Seasons come and go

Hear the waves crashing

Hot sand squeezed between my toes

Smell sunscreen-stained skin

Air as crisp as chips

The wind gusts powerfully

Clouds race each other

Movie marathons

On rainy days with popcorn

All my friends with me

Taking hot showers

Snuggling in soft blankets

My favorite tea

Menthol companions

Affectionate connections

Always makes me smile

Picking fresh star fruit

Counting drum beats together

My dog licks my face

If fresh soil means

New beginnings then nature

Can mean forgiveness

Health is not promised

I will make my own comfort

I'll live in the now

Leaves fall on my back

God's way of reassurance

We will be okay.

inspirationalnature poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Riley Forest

(they/them)

Thanks for joining me on this adventure.

Reading and writing help me feel less alone. I love all forms of art.

Born in Alberta, CA. Based in Florida, US.

Link to my Youtube channel to see videos of my poetry!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.