Poets logo

Scrumptious Cycle

Dragged kicking and screaming from the orb

By J. JayPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Image by Louise Dav from Pixabay

I’m staring at a blank field. At the very top of this vertical journey is a jagged blue ladder creeping

down.

_____Drip.

_________Drip.

_____________Drip.

Raindrops of inspiration splash across my face. Cold and

thrilling.

Across

from the right.

Inspiration falls from the

right.

That’s why they call it

right brain.

.

I see mountains of white—stacks of paper billowing and protruding,

puffing up like the ground is taking a deep

chest inhale.

And

The mounds rise with creakiness and

the boom and sharp whistle and

drizzle of

a thousand piles and pages slide and

collapse as the

giant awakens.

Wait!

I haven’t finished the first page!

.

When I step on the bottom, I sag against the ladder. Two

bowls of porridge are waiting for me. Steaming

with a sickly nutmeg scent. I

grip the spoon and

take a taste. Lumps of victory

mixed with salt exhaustion.

Exhaustion—

it is an extra flavor.

.

I devour it all.

Lick

the paste clean.

Stagger

to my feet and

flip the page.

.

Chapter 2.

inspirationalsurreal poetryfact or fictionart
2

About the Creator

J. Jay

I like to share my art and writings, whether it's silly or serious. I'll also feature a comic I work on called Writing Whoas, which is about the joys and hardships of being a writer. Stick around to laugh or cry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Oh wow, this is so great! I love that drifting away into imagination, then realizing you never finished a foundational thought, having to trudge back to it. And yes, the exhaustion is real. But im glad the reward was so nourishing!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This is so fresh, it’s innovative in its structure (which I love) and the message. Really well done. I’m looking forward to Chapter 2.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.