Poets logo

Scrollers

Modern life

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 24 days ago Updated 24 days ago 1 min read
4
Scrollers
Photo by Nathana Rebouças on Unsplash

Scrolling and scrolling and scrolling and scrolling.

Living and skipping and watching and rolling.

The same thing again and again is controlling

life, as it is, is fictitious, patrolling

the web is pernicious, malicious extolling

the wrong moral codes designing and cloning.

The self is now gone, “bye-bye, see you morning”

-

But morning don’t come, we’re still scrolling and rolling

through endless feeds we're longing and fawning

for attention... or for something to take our attention...

Seems like an everlasting affliction

for humanity as a whole... be it large or small,

anything to take our attention.

We laugh and laugh at funny clips

of people taking hilarious slips

In reality, they could really be hurt... but who cares,

they're a million miles away, let me just get my fix.

-

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not being indelicate

because I’m speaking to you as a fellow scroller...

A hypocrite.

slam poetrysocial commentary
4

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran23 days ago

    "In reality, they could really be hurt... but who cares, they're a million miles away, let me just get my fix." I feel attacked by those lines 😅

  • Perfect social commentary! 👌🌟

  • Donna Renee24 days ago

    Oooof. Yep. 🫠🫠🫠. Nice work and right on the money!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.