Poets logo

School

INH

By Steph SinclairPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Carlos Martinez on Unsplash

In our preparation for self-discovery,

We’re not sure what the future will hold.

What comes next?

How do we handle the truth?

Answers will arise from the new light shone on the ugly truths we

Hold dear for a false sense of security.

As years go by, we learn new things about ourselves.

Terms,

Words,

Feelings,

When we leave, we’ll be new people,

With new joys,

New fears,

New lies, and

New truths.

High school – four years;

‘The best of your life’

What a lie.

It’s the one thing keeping our hellish lives together

A life that would fall apart unscheduled.

I have no wants,

But feel a need and pull towards

This comfort gluing my life together.

And I need to learn to live without

The structure it gives me

Without the halls of stress,

The scheduled tears,

Or a washroom cry.

High school.

A place that’s allowed me to decipher the truths of my life

A startling reality check from my hopeful wishing bubble

Where everything goes my way.

My shelter of comfort,

And the thumbtack that popped the bubble

Has set me on my way for reality.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Steph Sinclair

A young poet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.