Poets logo

Schizophrenia

From the Voice of a Teenage Daughter

By Melissa, the EmpressPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Schizophrenia
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

She smiles when we look at her,

But when we turn away she sneers.

She hears the words we do not say,

They are her messengers of fear.

She’ll ask why we’re laughing,

Please don’t get mad or cry;

She thinks we’re making fun of her,

We will never understand why.

The voices tell her false truths and lies,

She trusts them more than her family,

She thinks we will send her to a hospital,

The voices tell her we are her enemy.

She asks if she will be taken away soon,

And I tell her not to be afraid.

But she continues to ask, day after day,

I wish that her illness would fade away.

She calls others in her world evil and dumb,

And tells me I'm being manipulated by them.

But I am so tired of my crazy mother,

That I’d do anything to start over again.

-Written on 8/2/04 when I was 19.



sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Melissa, the Empress

I’ve been a writer since I was a kid, including short stories, poems, and autobiographical stories, too. I’ll be writing my personal stories as well as witchy stories and tarot tips.

snipfeed.co/empressofthenightslight

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.