Poets logo

Scary

A Poem About Fear

By Dani LopezPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've never been scared of many things.

I've tended to understand what things could and couldn't hurt me.

My biggest fear in life has always been,

Heights.

The thought of looking over the top of a skyscraper has me shaking in my boots.

Spiders, on the other hand, are laughable in my opinion.

I don't get scared while showering because I know the doors in my house are locked and I live in a good neighborhood.

Being at the top of the bleachers, though?

Terrifying.

I think it's the fear of plummeting to my death that scares me the most.

Because, being the rational being that I am, I know it's completely possible.

I fall on flat surfaces over my own two feet. Who's to say I won't tumble over a cliff?

I think that's what scares me the most.

The fear of falling.

That's why you were so dangerous.

You had me falling from the moment I heard your voice.

The first thing you said to me made me laugh.

You laughed with me and said that my smile was the best you'd ever seen.

So I fell.

Actually.

I didn't even fall,

I jumped.

I jumped head first into you with everything that I had with no fear of reaching the bottom.

But, the bottom always comes,

Dark, desolate, and incredibly lonely

You left me with only fond memories and passing glances.

I knew falling for you was dangerous, that it should scare me to my core just as much as tall buildings do.

But I couldn't find it in me to be scared,

the benefits largely outweighed the consequences in my mind.

And you want to know the crazy thing?

I'd do it all over again just to go back to the way things were.

To go back to the people we were.

To kids who loved each other with everything we had.

But sometimes love isn't enough.

I hope one day it will be though.

But, until then I'll steer clear of big cliffs and focus on conquering the bleachers.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dani Lopez

Christian Feminist| Writer| Singer| ENFJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.