Poets logo

Scars

From the poetry book Kiss Me or Kill Me: Set me free, by Amargeaux Rai

By Amargeaux RaiPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember Growing up

And falling down

Scraping my elbow on the ground

The sound of my elbow hitting the pavement

Still bothers me to this day.

The way I screamed.

Oh God, how I screamed.

The pain was unbearable.

And then...

Eventually...

I healed.

People asked, "How'd you get that scar?"

That moment seemed so far away,

But needless to say, I had a story to tell

About how well off I am

How much better a person I am

After I picked myself up off the ground

I'm still around to tell the tale

Of how I got my scars.

I remember when I was small

And

I went through something

That topped all things

That

Most adults

Would NEVER

Dream to go through;

I was born with a broken heart.

Set apart from other people

Laying in a hospital bed asleep

Will ease the pain

As they cleaned my wounds

Again and again and again...

How I screamed.

Oh God, How I screamed.

The pain wan unbearable.

And then...

Eventually...

I healed.

People asked, "how'd you get that scar?"

That moment now seems so far away

But surgery gave me a story to tell

About how well off I am

How much healthier I am

After that ordeal

I healed enough to tell the tale

About how I got my scars.

I can't tell you how many times things got hard

And challenged me

Angered me

Frustrated me

Made me cry.

I've gotten into fights in the past

In the last few years, I've been hurt by

Friends,

And cousins,

And teachers,

And siblings,

And parents,

And bosses,

And lovers,

And all sorts of people

Who don't even know me at all.

But I'm not bothered at all.

'Cause when people ask, "how'd you get that scar?"

These moments will seem so far away

By the time I'm ready to talk about

How much better off I am

How much better a person I am

How much stronger

And smarter

And durable

And braver

And humbler

Yes, and even more loving I am.

I'm not afraid

To be any of these things

Now that I've healed enough

To tell you about my scars.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Amargeaux Rai

I am a freelance writer, blogger, poet and artist who studies Holistic medicine, palmistry, herbalism, and astrology. I also love interpreting dreams, eating chocolate and giving hugs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.