Poets logo

Scars

Things I Didn't Tell Him

By Judy MaePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Yesterday he came to see me, he asked me where the scars on my knees came from

I told him, “It was from the grass cuts in the fields”

He said if it’s so, he shall go cut away all the grass in the fields

“No!" I said.

The fields were always overgrown with tall grass, but they could not stop me from going into the fields

It was never my intention to get love using my fragility and quietness, if anything, I wanted him to see the shine of my stubbornness and love me for that

After that, he turned away coldly

Annoyed to hear that once again, I did not need him to better my life

Maybe I should have told him

Should have told him that the scars were actually from myself when I was drunk the other day

And I was drunk because I loved someone

Maybe I should have told him I have much more of these scars all over my body, in places that he had not seen before

I was unable to give the kind of beauty that he was expecting of my body

Maybe I should have told him that I was not even sure if I would continue to exist for every tomorrow that was coming

My body was made only enough to survive

But I didn’t say anything

He won’t understand anyway.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Judy Mae

I put words on the internet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.