Poets logo

Scarlet and Teal

I was born with a heart loud as thunder..

By Racheblue LovePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5

I was born with a heart loud as thunder

a ruby carriage on which I would spin

lost in spectrums of poppy to silver

convinced life was a game I could win

Fearless, I ran ruthless and toothless

a ruby red glint in my eye

I called fire on tiny red spiders

rose undaunted towards a dark sky

But the storm raged a deafening bellow

as life entered a cloud black as ice

and my heart fell away from its scarlet beginnings

inflamed on an indigo night

Though I grew, my heart shrank to midnight

tripped on turquoise and aquamarine

lost myself in an Egyptian river

until nothing but blue could be seen

Cornflour, baby, electric

poured a shockwave of light over me

pushed me hard down the river until

I lay adrift on a crystalline sea

This deep lonely ocean engulfed me

drowned by elephantine waves every day

light turned to cyan, steel, phthalo

no rescue boats sailing my way

Only ghost forms with cargoes of orange,

mango, cinnamon, butter and tea

and I knew when I boarded their galleys

I'd lose the little that remained of me

So I dived back into Prussian waters

hailed der blau reiter down to the bed

towered horses carried me far, far beyond

until teal liquid flowed when I bled

I became one with unbearable sorrow

cobalt images burned on my soul

through death’s eyes felt violet vibrations

breathed in lilac to rebirth the whole

Quiet amethyst returned me to scarlet

feel her warm fingers gather the teal

weave our fibres together with sunlight

in her womb that will transform and heal

Wispy frays will forever be severed

love’s new wings grow on scarlet teal loom

feeling life force of colour and passion

I emerge from my moonstone cocoon

I’m re-born with a heart loud as thunder

a ruby carriage on which I can spin

found in spectrums of poppy to silver

knowing life is a game I can win

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Racheblue Love

Human being creative | sowing seeds of Love into the garden of Life | sewing threads of Light into art, design and lifestyle | weaving webs of words + magic..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.