Poets logo

scar

For when time doesn't heal.

By Amanda RileePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
scar
Photo by Umberto on Unsplash

I should have known you'd leave a scar.

I cling to my pathetic excuse of naivety;

I thought somehow I'd leave you easily.

Like artwork made of glass,

One drop should leave you shattered.

Of course, you always were more stubborn than that.

Why should your memory be any different?

But I needed you gone, obliterated, out of my head.

Desperate to remove any sense of familiarity,

I mindlessly scattered the broken pieces with my bare hands.

Blood red pools of fear and doubt surround me now,

And the gruesome gash in my hand

mirrors the gaping hole in my heart.

I feel only numbness where there should be pain.

But people don't like to see your insides,

So they stitch me up with little white lies,

Like, "it'll all be fine;" "things will get better;"

"The pain you feel won't last forever."

But time won't heal, I know the truth.

Someday there'll be no stitches,

And though all tenderness has left the wound,

The scar I wear across my hand will always point me back to you.

So way to go, you've left your mark,

Upon my heart and body too.

I should have known the day we met:

I'll never know life before you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Rilee

I've been told I feel too much, so for years I've bled words onto paper and hid them away... but I've finally decided that maybe hoarding my words is a waste. Maybe there is beauty worth sharing here. That's for you to decide now. Enjoy:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.