Poets logo

Saying goodbye

Dealing with the pain of suicide

By Jessica JoycePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I don't know how to say goodbye.

You didn't give me that opportunity.

A cousin is a best friend, your first friend actually.

You were always the oldest out of us all, and I'm next in line.

Now you've given me the spot, I didn't want.

I don't want to pass your age, I don't know why but it fills me with rage.

Remember us playing as kids, we were so free, and happy.

How does someone get past losing their first friend, when they chose to leave this world.

I want to scream, I want to cry... I'm not ready to say goodbye.

Remember being cheeky kids and in so much trouble from toddlers, to teens. Always up to mischief

I'm sorry I didn't know your pain, and that you felt you couldn't continue in this world because your soul hurt to much.

The guilt and pain it burdens me just the same, it's buried so deep inside. I don't know when I can breath again.

Scattering your ashes next month, on your birthday, it puts the knife a little deeper inside of my chest.

You are meant to be here, my cousin, not have taken your last breath.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Joyce

Always happy for constructive criticism and advice. Please comment what you think :)

I'm new to writing and am enjoying the journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.