Poets logo

Saying Goodbye

For Grandma D.

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Saying Goodbye
Photo by Arto Marttinen on Unsplash

It was a Saturday, about a week before

and the room was hot.

I did not have much I could find to say,

my throat felt dry.

I stood near the window for a release

from the overwhelming heat.

It pained me to look over at you,

that sadness in your eyes.

You curled the phone cord around the fingers of your left hand

I remember that.

You did it the whole time we were there.

I wanted to tell you it was going to be okay,

I wanted to,

but I did not know how to find the words.

As we all left, everyone grabbed your hand and said their goodbyes.

I rehearsed my turn in my head

to make sure it felt right.

I squeezed your hand, "I love you so much", I said.

We all walked out

I thought about our goodbye

wondering if I’d have a chance to say it again.

This one didn’t feel right.

A week later

I look down at your still face,

the room was hot.

I find myself with this thought again

the true last goodbye.

I say the words in my head and I reach out for your hand,

Ice cold.

This did not feel right.

I try to say it again,

my hands shaking this time,

my weeps filling the quiet room while others stand by.

I don’t want to do this.

I study your face.

I can’t do this anymore.

I look again.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.