Poets logo

Say Something

Do you dare take the risk?

By Michelle PettiesPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
When silence is not golden

Dear Well-Meaning Friends, Family, and Strangers,

If you see spinach or some matter, foreign or domestic, in my teeth, tell me.

If my fly is open for all to see, warn me, please.

If you see something creepy and crawly up, down, or across my back, swat it off.

If you see that crusty morning crud in the corner of my eye, pass me a tissue.

If you see the back of my skirt inadvertently tucked up or tucked in, lend me a hand.

If I forget my deodorant, slip a sistah the secret.

If you see a telltale red spot staining the back of my pants or skirt, cover me.

If you see something dangling from my nose, that’s not a ring, do the right thing.

If you see my black slip hanging below my white dress, whisper in my ear.

If you see my wig crooked and cocked, give me a straight heads up.

If You See Something, Say Something.

If my one chin has turned into two or three,

If you see rolls of extra weight gathering around my back, stomach, arms, and thighs,

If you see me struggling to walk across the street,

If it’s a chore for me to take the stairs, take a seat, or touch my feet,

If I am stressed out, burnt out, and busting out of clothes that are tight, tighter, and tightest,

If my smiling denials do not hide my defeat,

If my energy is lagging, but my appetite raging,

And if am living to eat instead of eating to live,

If I say everything is alright and yet you see everything is all wrong,

MIND YOUR DAMN BUSINESS.

Very Sincerely Yours,

slam poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Michelle Petties

We all have unique stories that lead us. I speak to organizations, large and small, sharing unique perspectives and my story of hope, healing, and triumph. Need an engaging, thought-provoking, and transformative speaker? Ping me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.