Poets logo

Satan's Snare

A personal Favorite By Ken Cruz

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Longing for greatness

Even just to taste it

But my talents wasted

And the devils already paved the way

The only one that rewards me

With temporary taste

Appetizer’s of fortune, love, and fame

All one in the same

Scrumptious snacks for dubious deeds done

Telling me I’m not really hurting anyone

Coaxing and pulling me into a false sense of ease taking me against his breast,

speaking with soft bated breath,

telling me that he’s the one that can cure my disease,

help me escape this world of living death,

telling me that he will love me like a father and will satisfy all my needs, wants, and desires as he pulls me close against his chest.

At night I awake in a bed of lies,

Night terrors of my own demise

Falling to my knees as soon as I rise

Begging for forgiveness like a lover gone awry

I hope he can hear my cries

And offers redemption before

in my death bed I lay

Day after day I try to find a new way

but only the prince of deception hears my pain and somber sounds...

telling me that in my sacrifice all my hearts desires will be found...

Still every night I fall to the ground

Knowing that with every bite further i drown

I can move from town to town

Find the prettiest thing in a gown

Or temporarily wear the devil’s gifted crown

I’ve touched delectable delights that men could only conceive in their deepest of dreams

I’ve tampered with temptations that could have defeated nations

I’ve ate ambrosia with the gods sipping on holy wine that could blow ones mind

And yet here I am

Trapped and deceived

Feeling like a dove that will never be freed

Because I helped to plant satans seed

Enjoyed the rewards of his creed

Living in hypocrisy hoping that in my pleas, my soul will be set free

But without any perfect offering

Now I sit in the middle

Bathing in a bed of darkness

My rewards repossessed and reclaimed

My souls stained like white satin sheets painted crimson red with stains of wine and bloodshed

The thoughts and dreams dance in my head

Like some morbid ballet

Things or what should be and what should have been

But somehow in the wake of my misguided sin

My vision Escaped me like a broken sail fluttering in the wind

My weaknesses and vulnerabilities exposed like holes in a piece of rusted tin

The only hope I have is my next of kin

But birthed and bathed in sin

Like my father and his before him

We seemed to carry a curse

One that follows us to our hearse

and with each generation gets only worse.

Our guardian angels slain in jezebelles name

Our hearts longing to tamed

But the devil and his dames are always the one holding the flame

So we gone carrying this burden and pain

But in the end we are the only ones to blame as we always seem to miss heavens train...

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.