Poets logo

Sappho’s Daughter

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust

By Summer RobinsonPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
26
Me in my childhood, age unknown

Even the tulips yield to the sun—

Collateral beauty admidst the sin of man

Lust, among the seven deadly, I may

Infused genetically, the capacity to love is irrevocable

Prophecy speaks to either purgatory or paradise, yet–

Sappho sanctified me when She delivered me

Evermore, should Heaven decline to take me, leave me in the shade of the tallest tree

Acrostic
26

About the Creator

Summer Robinson

"I want to do something splendid before I go into my castle–something heroic, or wonderful–that won't be forgotten after I'm dead." –Jo March, Little Women

Bold, outspoken, and loyal all in one–I aspire to be a modern day Jo March.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 8 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Cyrus12 days ago

    Congrats!

  • Bew12 days ago

    Amazing congratulations, can you read mine also?

  • Hozier, is that you? I mean, uh, excellent work! Very evocative. Keep it up!

  • ROCK 12 days ago

    Heart warming acrostic; you sure were a super cute little kiddo. Thanks to your earning Top story, I discovered you and subscribed.

  • instructive 12 days ago

    https://vocal.media/families/house-cleaning-5qmw0qck

  • Congrats on top story! Stunning imagery, unique style.

  • Chloe Gilholy13 days ago

    I love the imagery and reference to Sappho.

  • ema13 days ago

    Beautiful poem and beautiful picture!

  • angela hepworth13 days ago

    Stunning poem, Summer! I love your references to Sappho and to sin and religion - your words and their meaning meld so peacefully, even through the pain and judgment of the world. The capacity to love is indeed irrevocable. Awesome work!

  • Margaret Brennan13 days ago

    congratulations on TS. This is really beautiful.

  • D. D. Lee13 days ago

    Congrats on T.S.

  • Chelsea Gaddy15 days ago

    This is sooo good!! Keep writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.