Poets logo

Sand-Witcher

By Jacob ShermanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Sand-Witcher
Photo by Mae Mu on Unsplash

Chicken salad,

buttered toast,

scrambled eggs

and cup noodles,

cold cut sandwich,

flatbread pizza.

Nix your negs,

I make the most

of culinary doodles

in the margins

of my composition book

(that's my kitchen).

Look, I'm certain Gordon's wishin'

from within his Sistine Chapel

that he could hang me

from the gallows for my apple

and peanut butter treason.

Seasoned

with one or all of

pepper, garlic,

big pink salt,

basil and oregano,

my dishes are grizzly,

greasy assaults

upon the sophisticated palette. Oh,

I never bought a mallet

and I'm new to doing meat.

Guess I'll have to beat it

with my fist for now.

Ow!

That poor old sow,

what were they feeding her,

puppy chow?

Her flank's as hard

as The Rock's furrowed brow,

it took an hour

to tenderize.

Anyway,

I send replies

to trendy guys

and girls who review my food.

"It'll bend your eyes!"

(What?)

"It ends divides!"

They tend to cry

things along these

tender lines.

See,

a mender finds

ways to make people happy,

whether he's conventionally skilled

or not.

In this regard,

one of my favorite magics

is the simplicity I dish out

with my pans and pots.

Tsss.

how toexcerpts
2

About the Creator

Jacob Sherman

The desire to read, and perhaps to write, should be cultivated and nurtured with care throughout every stage of life. For my part I will inject what strangeness and truth that I can into our written history. Expect no constants but honesty.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.