Poets logo

Salvation

Slam Poetry

By adriel cleavesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Salvation

Your hold on my identity loosened

I have escaped your restraints.

I will no longer blame myself,

For actions which deprive

My wanting love and happiness.

I plead for end of betrayal,

I plead forgetting regret

Comes with forgetting you.

My tears finally drying,

I run from your clutches.

Fighting against will to die,

Surrenders for reasons to wake.

With you gone, I open my heart

To possibilities of a haven.

One that will not falter,

Against merciless attacks.

Running towards belief in love.

I am no longer within reach,

Of bloodstained hands.

Death paired with isolation

Crumbles amongst salvation.

My hallowed essence filled,

With warm compassion.

Your imprint vanished,

Torment no longer lingers

On scarred hearts.

Your command overpowered

By strong grasps of faith.

Your treacherous hold broken,

My pain able to dissipate.

No longer seeking death

I relinquish my doubts,

In need of a savior.

Your hold on my identity loosened

I find comfort within safety

Of blessed surroundings.

From a broken heart to another,

Fight for a want of salvation.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.