Poets logo

Salt Water and Sand

The ocean is home to me

By Bella BluePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Steve Fine

Homecoming Poem

Take me to the ocean, the salt , the sand, the sea

Take me where the water runs, racing home with me

For I was born a mermaid, and taken from my home,

Put on land to wander, making circles as I roam

As a baby they had found me, diving deep beneath the water ,

They decided then and there, I would become their daughter

Every time that we returned, I tried to run back in ,

“Oh, she’s our water baby”, they would say, with a grin

They kept me safe and dry, as any parents would

But I would run away to sea, anytime that I could

Every time they found me , many miles from the shore

“Silly girl, “ they told me, please don’t do that anymore

I had fallen off a fishing boat, one time when I was small

I played with sharks and jellyfish, I wasn’t scared at all

They rescued me with a giant net, as if I were a trout

I fought and screamed and cried, I wanted in, not out

I told them it was wrong, to keep me on the land

They said, when I was older, I would understand

I’m older and I’m wiser, and rue that fateful day

When I think about it ; I should have swum away

I suffer in the city, tied to a corporate chair

Wondering why its loud and grim, filled with polluted air

I wake up every morning , dress in my work attire,

Count the days until the last, when I can retire

I hate the little domicile , for which I’m forced to pay

If I fail, they told me, they’ll throw my things away

I can’t see the horizon, from where I stand today

I can’t watch the waves recede and wash my thoughts away

Oh, to escape beneath the waves, and leave this life behind

To shed all fears and worries, to float and to unwind .

The ocean is my home, and where I belong you see

The high tech life we live , is really not for me

To own a boat and venture on, an aquatic odyssey,

To sail into the sunset and blue infinity

Where seagulls still sing their song, as they soar across the sky

And fishes watch from underneath, because they can not fly

I miss the smell of salt and sand, waves crashing on the shore

I miss the water hugging me , a love I can’t ignore

Water brings me back to life, restores my vitality

It fills my heart and mind and soul, with immortality

I haven’t been to the ocean for such a long , long time

It is time to go home again, and time to end this rhyme .

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bella Blue

Polyglot. Sapiophile. Live in Slave for 2 rescue dogs. You can't make this up; Fictionalized Reality, names changed to protect the truth & the guilty. Everyone will think they are the heroine. What fools these mortals be...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.