Poets logo

Sailing for Lands Good Enough

Saying Goodbye to Perfection's Bliss

By Pieces of Me ~ Poems by HeidiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Unsplash / Oliver Sjöström / Instagram @olisjostrom

Today, I set out

for lands good enough

and say goodbye

to perfection’s bliss

for it takes far too long

and too much of me

to feed my perfectionist

~

You see,

the ill-fated truth

about Her gnawing deep inside

is she doesn’t like to be ignored

no matter what I try

~

At first, she whispers softly

then, her voice grows strong

before I know it,

she starts to scream

I question if my starving

her is wrong

~

To avoid paying a price

that I simply can’t afford

I do my best to ignore her

And distractions I move toward

~

I spend time in the sun,

then I call a friend,

busy myself with chores,

yet her screaming doesn’t end

~

With tired ears,

a desire for peace,

and distractions running dry,

my longing for good enough lands

begins to subside

~

Perhaps… “I’ll tweak

just one sentence”

I think,

as her cries seep in my mind

“It can’t hurt to do simply one”

I think

“It will be just fine”

~

I shift a sentence

or two

then, a single word

I’ll move this part here,

and that over there

as it sounded rather absurd…

~

This section doesn’t flow

so I’ll add a detail to this line

and change a part from here

that’s all it needed to sound fine

~

“I’m on a roll!” I think

as I write away

moving, changing, tweaking

long into the day

~

“What time is it now?”

I wonder

thinking minutes have gone by

the clock strikes five

hours have passed

the sun sits low

in the sky

~

What happened to my plan?

Where did lands good enough go?

Perfection, what have you done?!

I realized her screams left me

long ago

~

So…tomorrow I will sail

for lands good enough …

and say goodbye

to perfection’s bliss

hoping with a new day’s sun

I can ignore my gnawing

Perfectionist

artinspirationalsocial commentaryfact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Pieces of Me ~ Poems by Heidi

In 2022, I came across a bin of my journals spanning many years. It was then that I realized I haven’t told people I enjoy writing or shared my work publicly. I decided to start.

FB/Insta @piecesofmepoemsandwriting

Thank you for reading ❤️

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.