Poets logo

Safe

A Poem by Kara Thomas

By Kara ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’ve known her since I was born

She is my safe place,

My lifelong love

She is beautiful

I adore her

When I’m not near her I feel out of place

I love her

But her love is toxic

She leaves marks on my skin

She scares me at night

I feel fear when I’m alone with her

But she is my safe place

She cares for me

Being wrapped in her warm embrace is the highlight of my day

When I was away from her, it was bad

I felt out of place

I felt hated by everyone

When I am with her I feel loved

I feel at home

Without her, I fear I am nothing

I needed her

So I clawed my way back

By any means necessary

I had to return to her

I am with her again

And all is right with the world

I am scared sometimes at night

I have marks on my skin

I am scared, I am alone with her

But I’ve known her since I was born

She is my safe place,

My lifelong love

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kara Thomas

I love to write, sing, dance, play video games, random stuff. I hope you find something here that you enjoy.

Any tips I receive will go towards funding my college education. I am studying History and Sociology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.