Poets logo

Sacrifice

The shark dream that will forever haunt me

By Heather HagyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2

The vast blue sea reflects

A clear afternoon sky

Floating

In a yellow kayak

I feel out of place

***

It’s coming

***

The shore seems so distant

Just how far out are we?

Burning

My fair cheeks beyond pink

I long for the sand

***

It’s coming

***

I want out of this dream

Oceans terrify me

Gripping

My paddle in cold hands

I cannot look down

***

It’s coming

***

You’re fifty yards away

Bobbing in the water

Hanging

Onto your blue kayak

I shudder in fear

***

It’s coming

***

Faint splashing, no warning

A massive gray-white head

Breaching

The sun-dappled water

I freeze in terror

***

It’s coming

***

Seconds feel like minutes

As the shark ignores me

Disappearing

Back under the surface

I have lost my voice

***

It’s coming

***

Panic overwhelms me

when the beast speeds forward

Surging

Mother’s instinct kicks in

I must save you, son

***

It’s coming

***

Get out of the water

Climb back in your vessel

Screaming

Don’t ask me why, oh please

I think you’re too slow

***

It’s coming

***

Relentless sun beats down

As I throw my paddle

Intending

To flip my boat over

I offer myself

***

It’s coming

***

The ghostly hunter dives

And I wake from the dream

Gasping

Never knowing the end

Did I die for you?

***

Coming, coming . . .

***

Or did I watch you die?

heartbreaksurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Heather Hagy

Stephen King fan (but not like Annie "I'm your #1 fan" Wilkes cuz I'm sane and she's not)

Horror/supernatural are my favorite writing genres

Wife to 1 and mom to 4 humans, 4 dogs, 6 cats, and a dragon

"Jaws" is the greatest movie ever

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    The use of "It's coming" as a harbinger with this kind of cadence is as good as Jaws!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.