Poets logo

Sacrifice

Mother's Love

By compassion24Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wanted to spoil her and give her back, full of candy and sweet rolls

Play games with her, read silly stories, and send her home to mama

But life has other plans

Addiction, pain, accidents

I think to myself where did I go wrong?

I raised them the same, with morals, work ethic, and fun

There were tough times , there were altercations, but I was always positive, upbeat , I wanted so much to be a mom

Where I would be treasured, and loved, Where they would come visit me,

Instead I am raising my grandchild, because my child cannot function

She cannot take care of herself, much less a child

Will I be good enough this time? I do not know what I did wrong the first

I kept up with family, amusements, maybe she was just too spoiled.

I look at her baby face, the grandchild I am raising and she is confident, secure and safe now.

Telling silly jokes, and dancing unabashed

I do not want her going backwards, where she used to scream at night

I am old and have old people's problems, but I want to better myself, for her

Maybe it is destiny, we both need to go through these things to be whole

I hope I see her graduate high school, and get married

I pray my daughter makes it through to understand

Sacrifice

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

compassion24

Compassionate about people, processes and the human rights of others. I look for the good in people and my glass is half full, whether I fill it or someone else does. I hold a Doctoral degree in healthcare, and am a freelance writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.