Poets logo

Sabrina Fair

My Illusions

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
9
Sabrina Fair
Photo by Dave Webb on Unsplash

memories in my pocket

promise in my hands

one eye in the socket

that can blink on command

*

somewhat disconnected

I'll rebuild who I am

happily, dejected

often caught in up, a jam

*

going through all the motions

with my Sunday best on

a dingy on the ocean

waiting anxiously for Amazon

*

a special delivery

meant only for me

self-contradictory beauty

from my family tree

*

a touch on my shoulder

from a stranger I should know

didn't know I had grown older

lost in my own afterglow

*

an empty skull, full of questions

a fractured heart, with doubt

a thoughtful suggestion

the backdoor, way out

*

no sense for the senseless

and some morphine on tap

a work still in progress

with my hands in my lap

*

my daily illusions

show up right on time

to avoid the confusion

I will label them, mine

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    Sounds like life to me.

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    You are an exceptional poet

  • This was so freaking amazing!

  • Ghosy Gan8 months ago

    Nice work!

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    Your smashing them out today, all sorts and types. This allows me to use the "trying to catch Kelli" excuse should it happen to come up in conversation! 😊

  • Claim them as your own.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.