Poets logo

Rush to Rest

An Internal Expression

By Pageant AshfordPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

The thrill of presentation, standing in front of the vast crowd

Letting it be known that change needs to come now, out loud

The ice and fire filling the pit of my stomach with inspiration, with motivation

The bodies swarming in droves of appreciation, applause, obvious captivation

This is the reality that I want always, a constant mode of improvement, success

Then it all sets in, mind swirling into the present, and it feels less

Meaningful conversations seem to lessen and to stop when the cameras turn away

This is the truth for most if not the truth for all when we try to make change, to sway

The rush is simmering below my skin, driving my mind wild within

Exhaustion hits, world weary, heavy limbed

It’s exciting to be a part of something great, inclusive

Celebrating a win, a success, and a new way to live

I rest my head on the kitchen table before me, mind restless

The beeping of the microwave breaks my thoughts, my stress

The buttery aroma pervades my senses, distracting

Simplicity reminding me that it takes time for these things

When it’s all said and done, until the next time I am seen…

Until we get back together, but for now I should just breath

Silence.

I’m happy to be with my people, to experience wild and free

I don't mind standing out in a crowd, but for now I’m glad it’s only me

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.