Poets logo

Runways of the Hidden Kind

somewhere a pilot looks to land

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Runways of the Hidden Kind
Photo by Jeremy Wermeille on Unsplash

It is no wonder some choose to wander;

self-discovery as a motive

serves hearts of the purest kind.

Souls that rose to never squander

gifts otherwise squashed by feeble minds.

Yet there are others who feel no shame

and, no matter the occasion,

crave self-absorption, which expands.

Like Sooners who staked claim,

despite hearts ingrained in native lands.

And I would curse them to be damned

if I knew my own flight path or where to land.

But alas, where is my runway?

Where is the place I long to call home?

A place to transport boxes of my pride

to be stored and shelved away?

With calloused feet, I wish to roam,

and smile

with the sun

on my face.

Thank you for taking the time to read "Runways of the Hidden Kind."

If you have enjoyed it, please check out Panes of Glass below, which was featured as a Vocal Top Story.

https://vocal.media/poets/panes-of-glass

Likes, comments, subscriptions are all very much appreciated.

heartbreakinspirationalsad poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.