Poets logo

Running For My Life

The Depths of Living

By E.AmaliaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
20
Running For My Life
Photo by Austin Neill on Unsplash

Running for my life.

I’m running for my life.

I am running until I can taste the blood bubble up in my mouth.

I am running until I can feel my lungs.

By David Marcu on Unsplash

The views will be worth it when I get to the top.

A path stretching miles high, and the air grows thinner as I rise.

This is not my own making.

This is the cool breeze coming from the run up a mountain.

Running for my life.

Not away from the fear and darkness.

Not away from the noise and the shadows.

Not away from the constant pressure and brokering.

By Matt Sclarandis on Unsplash

I am running for my life.

To the top of this mountain, I never thought I’d conquer.

To the heights, I never thought I’d look down from.

To the place, I can take deep breaths and embrace my mountain top.

I have nothing to lose.

Nothing more to fear.

I have already heaved my grief and shed every last tear.

I have already sat in the dust and hoped to turn into ash.

By Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

I am running for my life.

To life.

Not away from what I hope.

The wildest dreams no longer seem so wild.

Reachable.

Accessible.

By Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

Running for my life.

Off the top of this mountain.

Free falling - into a depth I never lived before.

Falling with arms and lungs open wide.

The water will catch me and when I am full to the brim.

I will run all over again.

By Zen Maldives on Unsplash

inspirationalperformance poetry
20

About the Creator

E.Amalia

Hola! I'm E.Amalia. I've got a penchant for the macabre, weird, and spine chilling genres. Also I write poetry, also I'm a dragon for books.

Drop a ❤️

Subscribe 🖤

Comment 💙

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    This is very thought provoking. Quite profound. Well deserved TS!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    What a metaphor for taking the plunge. You evoked so much here - using energy, striving, how hard it can be. Loved it. Congrats too on TS!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Fabulous inspirational and performance poem!!! Congratulations too!!!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Wonderful!

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Super captivating. Congrats on top story

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    So glad this got Top Story! I nominated it "Raise Your Voice". Just reread. So very beautiful ❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Beautiful work!

  • Andrew McKenzie9 months ago

    this words are just soo interesting i love the flow of words, "I am running for my life. To the top of this mountain, I never thought I’d conquer. To the heights, I never thought I’d look down from. To the place, I can take deep breaths and embrace my mountain top. I have nothing to lose. Nothing more to fear."

  • Aathavi Thanges9 months ago

    I love the way you use these photos to add to your storytelling

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    Running for my life❤️❤️❤️ i felt this so deeply. And i know the feeling. Ur truly strong E.A. ✊🏼 this deserves TS!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    This is a profound poem. I feel as though I was with you.

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    I really liked this. It has profound deeper meaning about running towards rather than away from something. Beautiful ♥️

  • This felt so liberating! Such a wonderful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.