Poets logo

running down a gravel road

"You can never go home again, but the truth is you can never leave home, so it's all right." - Maya Angelou

By Sarah BrucePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4

running down a gravel road

crunch crunch crunch

beneath my bumbling feet

open sky and open fields

closing in around me

must get away fly away

like the red-tailed hawk

swooping from atop a power line

the horizon recedes

with every puff of dust

I leave behind a lone trail

that will soon be washed away

by warm summer rain

pluck the little pebbles

from my shoes

smooth the rocks into cement

yet still I hear the crunch

as wounds stitch into scars

and my legs continue to ache

held captive by the knowledge

that I can never outrun myself

nature poetry
4

About the Creator

Sarah Bruce

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.