Poets logo

Rot

food, foundation, brain, soul...

By Jacob ShermanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Rot
Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

First came the relentless rain,

whereby rot took root in the wood.

As those helpless, dying fibers

silently decomposed,

a single, creeping worm

benignly supposed

that he'd found a hole

of the perfect size.

Deaf to the house's creaking sighs,

he made himself at home,

and the vile stench of his comfort

drew the fascination of his ilk

for relative miles around.

A resounding urge to milk

this sudden nest for its whole worth

gave swift, disturbing birth

to a hungry colony.

Far too busy paying the bills

to notice the sagging posture

of your dwelling,

you lived obliviously

until the very walls and floor were swelling

with the mass of your neglect.

In retrospect,

now left with nothing,

a cursory investigation

would have revealed the dire necessity

for an ethical extermination.

But now you're here,

and if you desire to hire

someone for the fumigation

of your vacant heart,

I know a guy.

His rates are steep,

but you won't hear a peep

and he does the job like no one else.

He might even have something

for those nasty welts

on your beer-battered brain.

I paid him once, an arm and leg,

but I never felt the same.

Do I occasionally catch a glimpse

of my old anhedonia?

Are there days when gray

is all I see, and apathetic pneumonia

chokes me half to death,

surrender slowly filling my failing lungs?

Of course, of course,

and you have my remorse, but I've sung

that dreadful round of karaoke

so long that it's lost its edge.

One day, I decided I'd try

to write a song of my own instead.

excerptsinspirationalhow toheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Jacob Sherman

The desire to read, and perhaps to write, should be cultivated and nurtured with care throughout every stage of life. For my part I will inject what strangeness and truth that I can into our written history. Expect no constants but honesty.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.