Poets logo

Rose in the River

A Poem by Alyssa "Lefty" Molina

By Alyssa "Lefty" P.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
3

At birth, the sight of her turned my heart into gold:

I held her close to me, my smile pure joy,

the yellow sun setting behind us, the Earth grew old.

But this new life made me feel timeless, I didn’t care if they were a girl or a boy

I couldn’t wait to get her so many toys;

she was my sunshine, I gave my Glory to God

Her personality has always been charmingly coy

Some might find her fashion sense a bit odd

To me, she is an angel, though her complexion isn’t white

The melanin running through her skin

Makes any room glow, at first sight

Her beauty comes from deep within;

her existence is the reason I know I’m going to win

at life, and nothing more, nothing less...

She inspires me to take the darkest moments and grin

Her love is the reason I can get my feelings off my chest

I asked her to tell me more about herself

At the young age of sixteen

"A rose in the river", they described themselves

Flowing with the water, existing in between

two worlds, sometimes feeling unseen:

But I tell you, she’s not hard to miss

She is royalty like the color purple, whether she chooses to be king or queen

To me, she is the reason I aim to achieve pure bliss

Though I know she struggles with envy

Sometimes feeling blackness in her heart

I need her to always remember she is liberated, never empty

I didn’t create her, but to me, with her shades of yellow, white, purple, and black, they are the death to my ego and my greatest work of art

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Alyssa "Lefty" P.

28 year-old NuYoRican from Spanish Harlem who has a passion for writing, learning, achieving peace, faith, and empowering others. I've established a career as an educator and career counselor for over five years. Instagram: @alyssaleftyp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.