Poets logo

Roots

From where I'm from

By KtPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I am from Mason Jars,

and galvanized steel water troughs

From wooden clothespins

holding on tight as our bedding and clothes try to take flight

I am from the white house with blue trim and big dinners

Farm raised, fresh picked, home cooked every time and you best clean your plate

I am from marigolds, sunny and bright. Plucking the petals,

to me, a delight

Eternally, I am at home in the light

I am from card nights,

dumping hearts and throwing spades-

and taking chance on a blind nil--

Fair luck on the trade

From Albert and Marjorie

A long line of Roth's

I am from couch naps and bad backs

From rope swings & big dreams

From "my cup runneth over"

and "C'est la vie"

I am from pews with tiny evelopes for money,

Big bibles and bulletins

And jokes that "ain't funny"

I'm from Cali and Ireland and Italy,

I am a mixed breed

But a far cry from the city

Spaghetti, fried eggs and "tato's"

Pick an ice cream from the old country store

and library visits-

childrens picture books galore

I am from wildflowers

Arranged in chipped glass

Bottles and treasures

We dug up out back

I'm from flat roads and crawdad holes

Barnwood and baked goods

I am from trowels and shovels

Hard work and worn hands

I am forged in the fire

of the old wood stove to heat our home

And the metal can to empty the ashes

And start fresh again

From the cabinet covered with old family pictures

Filled with dad's records, mom's cassette tapes &

Nan's serving dishes

A recipe for nostalgia, music and words all housed together

Stuffed inside this old soul

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Kt

I embarked to my favorite coastline several years ago in search of feeling in a dark season and accdientally wrote a poem. I have written ever since.

Poetry is what my friends know me for, but words burn in my bones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.