Poets logo

Romanville

My hometown

By Lola SensePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Photo by Joshua Rawson-Harris on Unsplash

My gray home, Romanville

Lies where the railroads meet

Long kisses and teary goodbyes on its platforms

Home of the homeless

Home of stray dogs and empty promises

Of hidden gems, lost people

And hidden dangers.

My sunny home, Romanville,

You raised me amid fields of weeds burnt

Sweat and dust in communion

Hopes and lust

Summer days long

Summer nights longer

Taste of beer and vodka on my underage lips

The night air smelling of heavy metal and

heavy hearts.

My small town, Romanville

Too small to dream big

Getting lost on your veiny streets

Leading nowhere numbed minds.

When I escaped your corrosive labyrinth,

You saw it as desertion

Threatened me to never have me back

And punished me with forgetting.

But I didn’t.

© Lola Sense 2021

~~~

Thank you for reading! A version of this poem was initially published on Medium. If you like my work, you can support me with a tip or a coffee. And if you enjoyed this, you might also like:

vintage

About the Creator

Lola Sense

Poet and writer who feels everything deeply. Buy me a coffee here 💜

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lola SenseWritten by Lola Sense

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.