Poets logo

Roll with It

Talking About Movement for #VocalNPM

By Max FisherPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Shadows rolled across this field like a ship on the tide. Just roll with it.

It started with, “I’m Sorry”

And ended with, “Don’t give up”

But the wheels are now in motion

And I’m rolling with the tide

Can I be sick forever?

Don’t illnesses get better?

Apparently this is my life now

But people don’t seem to get it

Because it’s such a shame to see me

In such a vulnerable position

With more to my body now

Than there ever has been before

Looked down at with pity and derision

Perceived to be stagnating,

Overcome by my disease

Fading and falling far behind

Though I promise you that’s not the case

I’m still here, and I’m still me

For I am truly free now

Something I’ve never known before

Trapped in a body that only feels the pain

You assume that I’ve stopped fighting it

That I let illness take the wheel

But you couldn’t be more wrong

I may no longer walk very well

But in taking life by the push-rims

I gave myself the freedom I deserved.

The freedom to move on from

Lying in bed and fighting my body

In pushing myself from A to B

My wheelchair is my freedom

And gosh, these wheels can move.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Max Fisher

Max is a disability and trans rights activist from Nottingham. They are non-binary, and they live with chronic pain, using a wheelchair part-time. They are a passionate scientist. Instagram: @Ouch_mouse | Twitter: @OuchMouse8

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.