Poets logo

role reversal I

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

the world has broken down its walls

after you left us all

some individuals decided to change and never told me about it

they insisted on their immutability

however, the circumstances were against them

because my capability spotting fakes is huge

give me all the identical ones and I differentiate them

the lying ones and the true ones

there is no philosophy in it

as others take us for fools

they only pretend to lure

us to their lair

to strike with even more deceit

for whatever reasons everything was done

money, power, lack of guts

to admit that I mattered

in this strange puppet theatre;

now that we’ve all said and done

tell me everyone, where is the ball?

you supposed to keep a sharp eye on it

but you let it roll recklessly

and now it’s my turn to play with it

- --

for dad

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetry
3

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.