Poets logo

Riverbed

A place of rest

By Ash TaylorPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Riverbed
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

The river flows, swift and strong.

Resting beside the pool I lie

Listening to the rapid’s song

Whilst the river flows on by.

Reflections mimic each move I make;

Dispassionate, distorted, and wild.

Warped by ripples on the lake,

Somehow the water feels defiled

By my presence on the riverbank.

The sunlight dances on a sunken bed

Of all the bones from those who sank.

I wish I lay down there instead.

Cradled by the river’s soft embrace,

I know I won’t be here for long,

And I sink below the surface.

Here at least, I can do no wrong.

When they find me, weeks from now

I wonder if they’ll want to know.

Will they wonder why, and how

Of all the ways in which to go

And why a person wants to die

It was on the riverbed I chose to lie.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Ash Taylor

Lover of fantasy and all things whimsical. Currently studying Writing and Publishing at UNE in Armidale, Australia. Living on Anaiwan land.

he/him

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.