Poets logo

Rising From The Ashes

How the Jungle's Lightning Helped the Phoenix Emerge

By J.W. BairdPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

As I walk through this concrete jungle I have learned that not every path leads to a beautiful destination.

Each day the sun rises and the sun falls. I am greeted by the moon each night. That is when things begin to come alive.

The melodic rhythms dance through the air. There is laughter and loud conversations as people gather down the main street.

It is another hot summer night with just a hint of cool breeze. The smell of the nearest pizzeria and taco stand fill the midnight air.

The night is lit up by street lamps and neon tavern signs. The flashes of lightning begin to light up the night's sky.

The gentle rain begins to fall and soon we are consumed by heavy rains. As most run to the car, I drift away in a serene feeling as I start to twirl and leap in the street.

A rush of freedom hits my soul and I begin to feel more like myself. I am not one to follow the crowd. I am one who finds myself often on the outs.

The years tend to fly by and time never seems to cease. We all hold on for dear life hoping to find little slices here and there of peace.

My strength has been diminished from years of being trapped within a life that is not my own.

As it began to fall apart I often wished one day I could fly away.

The thought of an escape from life's harsh realities is where I often find my mind flees.

I find myself sinking into the depth of the pit filled with a vast darkness.

As my mind tries to make me feel complete defeat. I struggle and push myself hoping one day to release the Phoenix and rise from the ashes.

I remind myself each day that I am loved and of what lies within. I have the blood of warriors running through my veins.

My ancestors fought to survive. As they tried to erase our existence and wipe out our families they failed, they did not know the blood of our ancestors is what gives us strength.

What is often found in history books in the perspective of what was seen as the majority at one time, once by those who were considered the most intellectual beings.

But what they did not know... is that the history of this country was built on the knowledge and wisdom of those who have lived life in our traditional ways.

Our elders are highly honored as they have been on this earth the longest, and have seen what most have not seen. This knowledge is handed down generation to generation.

We are thankful for the blessing that the Creator has given us. We respect our surroundings, the four-legged, the two-legged, those who live in the water, and those who fly in the sky.

We live by the Seven Grandfather Teachings, and Celebrate the Thirteen Moons and the gifts they bring.

We live through our art, and lift our voices to speak up for our people. We are here, we are still alive, we do exist.

It’s hard to grow up in a world with no to little representation. How can our children grow up to be strong individuals if they do not see those who look like them in the magazines, music, movies, and classrooms.

But today…. times are changing! I have seen those in Congress, those in Pro athletic careers, those in the movies, those in the music industry, those in space, those in the fashion industry.

I see our First Nations People all across Turtle Island standing up and saying, “See Me!”

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

J.W. Baird

Who Am I?

I keep asking myself. I spent half of my life as a single mother. Pushing myself to be the strong independent individual that I have always been. My kids have grown and my life seems turned upside down.

I now search to find myself!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

J.W. Baird is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.