Poets logo

Rise Up!

Dystopic Poem of Hope

By Mike WaywardPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

Illuminati confetti, embers raining down

New World Orphans, scouring the ground

Fighting for survival, trying to see another day

Praying out to God, while the Godless prey

Preying on the hopeless, the poor and meek

Denying asylum, to those that seek it

Seeking an audience, to let them speak their mind

But deaf ears and raised noses is all that they can find

PLEASE DEAR GOD! WON'T YOU LISTEN TO ME?!

I sweat and I bleed, with hopes of being free!

Freed from this torment, free of this pain

Free to go back, to living again!

Though I try to thrive, I'm stuck with strife

Searching for a purpose, and some meaning inside

Please lord, give me strength, that I might rise

Rise up to the challenge, and take back my life

RISE UP! RISE UP!

And take back what's mine

RISE UP! RISE UP!

I won't step in line

RISE UP! RISE UP!

I won't be a slave

RISE UP! RISE UP!

Cuz my life has value

But it's not for trade

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Mike Wayward

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.