Poets logo

Rise and Fall

a journey of finding balance

By SierraLW.Published 10 months ago 1 min read
2

I heard a voice saying accept defeat

I have gone far enough and what’s left of me

Cannot fight against these forces

My fate is this, whatever I have come to, whatever I cannot escape from

It is heavy clouds that can hold no more weight

It is building up and breaking into a billion glittering pieces

It is falling down

I am this, the product of two worlds trying to balance

One dangling dreams above my head, and one carrying life beneath my feet

And I’ve watched them both submit to a cycle of impermanence

Conscious drifting into the unconscious

Stars lost in the light of day

When these balance there is creation

When they do not there is chaos

And I have tipped the scales

Because as night kept turning to day

My dreams felt stolen by reality

And I resented light for revealing scars on my skin

That were hidden in the darkness

So I hid in shadows until light went away

Now I am trapped under a sky that is clouded and gray

And as these falling pieces begin to flood

I hear a voice saying accept defeat

I cannot float here forever

I have to let this end

This is my fate

It is the earth pulling me into the ground

It is warm with the energy of life

It is healing

nature poetrysurreal poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

SierraLW.

: curious explorer lost in imagination, became devoted to words

Enthusiast for anything that animates my emotions, excited to read and share!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Nice piece❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.