Poets logo

Rhythmic Healing

A Poem A Day Keeps The Heartache Away

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Rhythmic Healing
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

I told myself, I'd be different today,

as I followed my same old routine.

I promised that I would be good to myself,

as I let you poke your fun at me.

*

I remembered a time that I liked who I was,

long before you entered my life.

Now I realize, I'm constantly telling me lies,

to help me survive on this ride.

*

It seems like that's the way things are done,

just hold out, until Friday comes.

I try not to think about the time that I waste,

I guess, so I don't feel so dumb.

*

I've been told so many times, that life is a gift,

you never know when it's your time.

Seems the only connection I cling to these days,

is sharing how I feel, by writing these rhymes.

*

To many I know, they are just words on a page,

something some do, to pass away time.

For me, it's healing and helps ease the pain,

that I keep locked away - deep inside.

*

So, for now, I will put down my pen,

step outside and take in the day.

For all too soon I will get stuck -back in my head,

Searching for new words to help heal the pain.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist2 years ago

    Writing is healing💖 Thank you for sharing 💕

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Splendid surreal poem!!! Loving it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.