Poets logo

Revisited

Old Friends In New Places

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Couch. Yosemite, CA. 2022

We reminisced of the old days

We spoke of today

:

We dreamed of our futures

the fruit they would bear

:

We charted where we are

where we have been

where we are going

where we refuse to tread again

:

We are from the desert

but now we walk through mountains

:

We were once in love

but now we’re just good friends

:

I recognized

his natural talent

I encouraged him

to still go for his dreams

“You made it out of the desert

and beyond this valley

they are still waiting.”

:

He remarked on

how far

that I’ve come

:

Innocently

I thought he was talking

about how far I drove to get

to his cabin

:

But he corrected my thoughts

when he said,

:

“No, I mean you’ve come a long way

in life to be here where you are now.”

:

It was what I needed to hear

because not very many know

my story, my struggles, my strength

and recognize my resilience

to become the woman I am now

:

He encourage me

He said from

knowing who I am

that I could do anything

:

His belief in me

was as refreshing

as the mountain air

:

He is grown now

but his quirks are the same

A love for videography

photography

and nature

:

I asked him to take me

to places no one knows about

To new places that

I’ve never seen before

:

The secret natural wonders

that only a few know to look for

:

We ventured

We laughed

We played

:

At the end of the day

we both agreed

that this day was exactly

what we both needed

:

A break from the day to day

to remember who we are

and why we came

to this place

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.