Poets logo

Reverse

time

By Hunter BlakelyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Lying in bed, staring at the ceiling;

I find myself awake again.

My mind seems to be moving when no one else is,

though not when you'd expect.

I'd hope to be up early, and start my day refreshed.

I'd hope to be clear in thought during the light of day.

I'd hope to be energized and able when it makes sense.

I'd hope, and regularly I'd be disappointed.

Thoughts racing a million miles an hour through the night.

The clock ticks, and beats in my head like a tortuous drum, reminding me of the passage of time.

Tick... Tick... Tick...

Seconds turn to minutes.

Minutes slip by and hours are lost.

Soon, the sun will rise, and I shall fall.

Sleep seems to elude me until I would hope to be revived.

When I desire rest, I am pushed to move.

When I desire work, my eyes are made to close.

For what reason am I plagued with such reversed cycles.

How have I been brought so far from the natural rhythms of the earth and sun.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hunter Blakely

Born a peasant, grown a prince.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.