Poets logo

Revenge

Who knew the universe was looking for it too?

By Andre The FirstPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
6
Unsplash image by Peter Forster

This generation will teach you not to trust others,

But when they spoke about snakes in the grass.

I didn’t know they were talking about her ass!

Coming to terms with her betrayal was rough.

So why’d she think to fix it,

Begging and pleading would be enough?

The sorries didn’t calm my anger.

It only made me want to strangle her,

But I didn’t want to step out of my character.

I just wanted revenge,

But I was no avenger.

Blinded by rage, the universe had a desire to speak to me.

Saying, “Nice to meet cha!”

“I’m sorry, but you can’t do my job.”

I felt robbed!

Vengeance was supposed to be mine.

Yet the universe said, “it wasn’t in my design.”

Something about her voice sounded so familiar

And as she got closer, I could almost make out her figure.

She ordered me to surrender

All of my pent-up anger.

Who was she, and who sent her?

Was she my avenger?

When I laid eyes on her,

She indeed wasn’t a knight in shining armor,

But she was without question something better!

She was Karma!

performance poetryslam poetrysurreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Andre The First

Beginning my writing journey and hoping to inspire others to follow their dreams!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brea Pettiford2 years ago

    Beautifully written 👏🏽👏🏽

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.