Poets logo

Return of the Commune

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 4 years ago 1 min read

These were hardy people

Stern and stolid,

Solemn stoic

And they’re relatively equal

I can see it

And I know it

And among them

How I struggled

To conform

And integrate

To learn my place

Within a culture

I could not appropriate

Assimilation

Not my strongest suit

Linguistics class

I failed

And as a teacher of my own

I might as well have spoken Braille

And by comparison it paled

In living standards

I was jailed

But wealth disparity

Was fair

And food desertion

We could bare

And trust me

Even at its worst

I was not genuinely

Scared

So with a hindsight

20/20

Only now I see it clear,

Within a country

So much more

Divided

By its fear

social commentary

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael Brandon MarcheseWritten by Michael Brandon Marchese

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.