Poets logo

Restored

a whole piece

By Simara AskewPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

... and you destroyed my legacy -

you destroyed me,

broken

and i'm not sure what's worse being broken or the fact that I allowed you to break me in the first place

but i am thankful

to have been broken yes,

so many pieces of me lying on the ground starring back at me

waiting,

so patiently

waiting to be put back together by none other than their rightful owner

the only person who knows where all the pieces fit because they were made for me

me.

I belong to me and nobody else

I long to be with me and nobody else

except myself

lying and broken

picking up the pieces

painting a less than pretty picture

a self portrait if you will

and if you won't,

then perhaps our pieces don't quite fit together

anymore.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Simara Askew

Hi ! Thankful for the opportunity to express myself and connect, thankful for this space.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.