Poets logo

Restoration Crew

2016 - 2017 Fort McMurray wildfire

By Katarina PenfoldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Restoration Crew
Photo by Bjørn Tore Økland on Unsplash

Ready or not here I come Fort Mac to try to be able to help all families

The most prepared place in the province of Alberta, with no causalities

Volunteers coming from all different backgrounds to ban together

Volunteers willing to work through until late hours of the night and no matter the weather

The drive up I was nervous and scared felt as if I was having an anxiety attack

Even though I am home now after 2 weeks I still get flashbacks

What they were saying on the news and showing did not even come close to compare

There was a lingering of hopelessness and a mix of faith the air

It is a hard term to comprehend, but I am glad I went with a dedicated team

To be able to have people around to support one another in others time of need

Lots destroyed, and it was as if the fire danced through the night

Felt as if it did have a rule of or a grasp of sight

101 Garrison street will forever stay in my mind

Checking into sheets when going up to Beckon Hill

This is a historical moment and my name along with all volunteers will be there for many years to see

I developed a love to see people be able to share there stories

To have them welcome us into there home and want to talk

The amount of support and community is outstanding

I know that i did not live there myself, I am humbled by my experience

That me a small town girl from Mission, BC was able to go up and be apart of a new community of hope and faith

When they say they will rebuild I now believe more so in faith

Than anything I have ever been able to see with my own eyes

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.