Poets logo

rest

By Mona Yonus

By Mona YonusPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
3
rest
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

when my sodden days

i would have said to

explode my eyes in a daze

but now i know that you

-

were what I saw in

the barrel of sand with its

stained longing, writing

the secrets of the memories pit

-

which are stuck inside

the cloudy pebbles of the sand

that I saw as clearly abide

i think of the sand now and

-

it’s fiery cream orange

like the daffodils forced

upon the hills to mourn

their past life as a blue horse

-

maybe my past was more

heroic like hamlet

and dutiful like a spore

ugly, ugly ugly but fit

-

f

or(i)humans

mu

s

t(more)

unto

yo

ur(sno)

wy image

-

i never say bye to the snow

yet long to be worth it

and then I can disappear below

the morning mist

of a coal lodge of

my future destination

-

the tickets were at

the price of my soul

the american taint

of a smoky birch hole

it’s beautiful

my li

f

-

e

d

One be

(Fore)

I ts

Arts

-

i want to find

the rive r of

you r

photo

i hope i’m brough t

the re write

soon

s

O(i Can)

rest will come

in the flushed

rhyme of

the fall

en river pebble

dusty atoms

atop

surreal poetrysocial commentarynature poetry
3

About the Creator

Mona Yonus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Muhammed Ismail7 months ago

    Those are nice words I love it hope my stories have you like

  • Beautiful poem and the formatting was unique! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.