Poets logo

Rest now Bandana

By:Logan Totherow

By Logan TotherowPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Pride month, you left so quick.

A streak of many colors cast in the light.

To those who had awaited you,

You gave them power and right.

For thirty short lived days,

Pride month brought forth a craze.

and many mixed emotions,

like Fear, Disgust, and Praise.

To many a man like me,

Our colors could surely vex.

For myself a simple bandana,

pride worn closely around my neck.

A year it sat in waiting,

lay Draped, displayed by shelf,

A proud little relic,

A semblance of my inner self.

May thirty-first arrives,

in the washer it may be,

Cause come the next day,

My neck it shall not leave.

For thirty days for sure,

The world could see my pride,

The light of many colors

usually trapped inside.

But now dear June is over,

July 1st is here! It's time!

To lay the pride to rest,

And wait another year

for the month I consider best.

Rest now, my colors, my bandana,

back to your place upon my shelf.

Till once again is needed.

My pride in and of itself.

social commentary

About the Creator

Logan Totherow

Just a common southern boy looking to share the power of imagination.

If you would like an update or new chapters to ongoing stories, feel free to let me know in the comments!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Logan TotherowWritten by Logan Totherow

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.