Poets logo

Rest not near a Rex

Poem

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
2
Rest not near a Rex
Photo by Fausto García-Menéndez on Unsplash

Roaming , rough, fearsome Rex

Reaching real relief

Swishing a solid tail

Six miles in a hour, over others they did tower

Sharp serrated stabbers

Swallowing struggling strays

Reigning rex

Standing high

Standing tall

Fierce- feared I'm sure

Last night I saw one in my dream

I froze unable to scream

The barren land

No place to hide

I made my stand

But it seemed uninterested

in this starue of a woman

And then I awoke

Seeing him standing

at the foot of my bed

I was sure I was dead

But he lay down like a dog and slept

And I froze in terrior and wept

and as I wished for a reprieve

That this demon would

Get up and leave

I saw his image fade

Minutes later he had evaporated away

Had we both in my dream

transferred to the past

And when I returned he got caught

in a trap

To turn away from his future

Realizing that unlike a dog

My heart- my heart he would never nurture

childrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson14 days ago

    Good work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.